IAS Officer Exam – Ranks & List In India

IAS Officer Exam – Ranks & List In India: Guys, we are here providing you the information relating to the Officers rank and the other Various details of the Indian Administrative Services. IAS is an main wing of Indian Civil Services and they work along with Indian Forest Services, Indian Police services. The exam for IAS is conducted with the help of UPSC. Every year many candidates apply for the exam but only few gets selected and it’s exam is conducted every year and is considered one of the most toughest exam of the country. But the one who clears the exam they have lots of responsibility on their shoulders and they receives good amount of remuneration along with many incentives. This is the most recognized job in the country which brings both money and reputation and lots and lots of responsibilities with them. These posts require so much of hard work. Every year many applicants apply for the entrance exam. And it is very difficult to crack these exam and many fails to crack at once. Today we are here providing you the information related to eligible criteria for this exam.

Ranks in IAS

  • SDO/SDM/Joint Collector/ Chief Development Officer (CDO)
  • District Magistrate/District Collector/Deputy Commissioner
  • Divisional Commissioner
  • Member Board of Revenue
  • Chairman of Revenue

Eligibility Criteria for IAS Officer

  • A person who is applying he must have a bachelor degree from any of the recognized university of the country. The final year student can also apply for the post.
  • The minimum age applying for the post is 21 years and the maximum age is 32 years and there is a facility of relaxation to the certain categories.
  • There can only be 6 attempts for the general, 9 for OBC, and no limit for the SC/ST.
  • The whole pattern of exam is divided in three parts. Preliminary, Mains and Interview respectively.
  • All are qualifying exam and candidates need to clear each exam
  • The Preliminary exam is objective while the Main exam is subjective in nature.

IAS Exam Pattern

In every job candidates those who are applying need to give a written exam so that a company can select the eligible candidates. Check the exam pattern in the article given below:

  • The preliminary exam will be of total 200 marks.
  • To crack the exam the candidates need to get 50 % marks.
  • The exam is divided in three parts.
  • The three parts are English, reasoning Ability and Numerical Aptitutde.
  • The main exam is of 300 marks including the marks of Language exam.


To apply a person should know about the rules regarding to the nationality if he is not from India:

  • A person should be a citizen of India.
  • A person who is from Nepal Bhutan can also apply.
  • A person who s a Tibetan refugee who settled in India before 1st January, 1962 can also apply.
  • A person of Indian origin who migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka and East African Countries and have intention of settling completely in India can also apply.

IAS Exam Syllabus

IAS Officer Eligibility Criteria

How to Become A IAS Officer

IAS Officers Salary